CASA Consortium

About the CASA Consortium

The CASA Consortium is currently comprised of 28 universities and colleges. Representatives from Consortium member schools convene annually in conjunction with the Middle East Studies Association (MESA) meeting.

Designated representatives serve on a rotating basis on the Governing Council (six appointed representatives serve a consecutive three year term) and the CASA Fellowship Selection Committee (three representatives are appointed for a one year commitment). The Governing Council meets with the CASA directorship each fall during MESA to discuss and decide upon various academic, financial and administrative matters. The Selection Committee meets with the directorship each spring to review application materials and choose fellows for the upcoming year.

In addition to these service obligations, Consortium member schools pay annual dues ($1,200 per year) to provide much needed supplemental financial support for CASA programs. In recognition of this contribution, student applicants from member schools pay a reduced application fee, and if they are selected for a fellowship, they pay a reduced program fee.

Arizona State University University of Arizona
Brigham Young University University of Arkansas
Brown University University of California-Berkeley
Columbia University University of California-Los Angeles
City University of New York University of California-Santa Barbara
Emory University University of Chicago
Georgetown University University of Maryland
Harvard University University of Michigan
Indiana University University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Middlebury College University of Oklahoma
New York University University of Pennsylvania
The Ohio State University University of Southern California
Princeton University University of Texas-Austin
Stanford University
Swarthmore College